Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Software Ubuntu Upgrades Linux

Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx Benchmarked and Reviewed 164

Posted by timothy
from the pretty-snazzy dept.
tc6669 writes "Tom's Hardware just posted an interesting review of Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. It includes an expanded set of OS benchmarks that they also performed on the previous LTS release (8.04), to see just how much the mainstream Linux distro has progressed in two years."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx Benchmarked and Reviewed

Comments Filter:
  • by h4rr4r (612664) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @03:28PM (#32352010)

    They totally changed the theme, lots of bugs closed, many apps have been changed, in short you have no idea what you are talking about.

  • by Virtucon (127420) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @03:37PM (#32352136)

    I have four Guest Instances of 10.04 running alongside 9.10 under VirtualBox 3.2, no problems to report. You can see the difference especially in responsiveness vs. 9.10 in terms of app startup, system shutdown/startup and the GUI is definitely more polished. I did like the old "Human" motif better with 9.10 but for what I'm using it for, it's been solid.

  • by rwa2 (4391) * on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @03:42PM (#32352188) Homepage Journal

    Ha, I didn't have to wait long... Linux Mint 9 (based on Ubuntu 10.04) came out of beta last week. And I've still been installing new machines with version 8 since then :-P

    Well, thanks for the reminder!

  • by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @03:48PM (#32352276)

    On my laptop the headphone jack sense was broken in 9.04 (jaunty) in various ways -- the internal speakers wouldn't mute when the headphones were plugged in or sometimes the internal speakers would go from muted to on after listening with headphones for ~10-20 minutes. IIRC from the help forums, there was a problem with how the developers built the package. I couldn't be bothered to try compiling the sound system myself since I could get by not needing realiable sound. Anyway, I'm looking forward to trying a live CD version of Lynx.

  • by ebbomega (410207) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @04:00PM (#32352430) Journal

    #1 feature that has me blown away: full iPod Touch/iPhone support in Rhythmbox, without jailbreaking. Seriously, this was the one thing that kept me from buying an iPod touch for so long... I eventually decided to just bite the bullet and find _SOME_ fix that works... ultimately going with just using iTunes within Virtualbox. But then I hooked up my iTouch after upgrading to Lucid and was about to go launch Virtualbox and test that was still working fine... but saw my iTouch, with its designated name, listed in Rhythmbox....

    I'm sitting there going, "No.... they didn't...." so I try to drag one of the songs in my library over to my iPod.... and boosh! They did!

    Only problem I found though was that when I moved a couple tracks over that had "Unknown" as album title, it actually made everything else with "Unknown" as the album title inaccessible on the iPod. seems though this only has to do with stuff that was added via iTunes... so if I remove the song and then re-add it in rhythmbox, it's perfectly fine.

    It's a bit of a weird bug, but easily worked past, and now means that I no longer need to keep going into Windows/iTunes to load stuff onto my iPod. Great jerb!

    Also, while I'm not a _huge_ fan of the new default theme (window control buttons on the right pls) I did end up picking one of the new themes that suited my tastes, and I honestly am not looking back at all. I keep saying this every time I upgrade, but best linux yet.

  • Hey (Score:3, Informative)

    by mewshi_nya (1394329) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @04:06PM (#32352494)

    I've noticed it to be running a little faster than 9.10 did, on my Lenovo IdeaPad S10... so... looks good :) And this is with all the bells and whistles turned on.

  • Also (Score:3, Informative)

    by Das Auge (597142) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @04:16PM (#32352622)
    Then also try deleting your .gconf .gconfd .metacity folders.
  • by Lumpy (12016) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @04:45PM (#32353016) Homepage

    Other big bugs exist.

    GUI browsing of SMB networks is still borked out of the box. Cups fails when doing an upgrade from 9.10 to 10.04 you haveto force a --reinstall of cups to fix it.

    Several other things as well.

    It's better, but still has some serious show stoppers for non linux guru people. My wife likes it as her only OS but only because I fixed SMB browsing and the Cups problem.

    Dont get me wrong, I think it's far more stable than Windows 7, but it's not perfect and there are big enough "oopsies" that they need to fix them and release 10.04.1 right away.

  • by Lumpy (12016) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @04:46PM (#32353034) Homepage

    Yes.

    Cupsd will utterly fail.

    you need to re-issue....

    sudo apt-get install --reinstall cups

    to get it working again.

  • by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @07:48PM (#32355280)

    There's a tool for this; it's called 'gnome-cleanup':

    DESCRIPTION

              gnome-cleanup erases all GNOME user preferences, returning
              the user to the default look and feel. This can be used to
              undo undesired preference settings, or to correct the desk-
              top if the preferences become corrupt. The GNOME preference
              files are automatically recreated the next time the user
              logs into a GNOME session. By default this program erases
              the configuration files for the user running the command.

    In this case, it may not do exactly what you need, but in my experience it does the trick 99% of the time.

  • by HBoar (1642149) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @08:30PM (#32355806)
    Or just let the installer choose for itself. There is no reason why you have to manually choose where to install anything in *buntu now.
  • by mrwolf007 (1116997) on Wednesday May 26, 2010 @09:33PM (#32356546)
    is having the buttons on the left.
    To fix that:
    open console or press ALT-F2
    type "gconf-editor"
    go to "apps->metacity->general"
    edit the key "button_layout" to "menu:minimize,maximize,close"
    No longer get nerved by the changed layout.

God made machine language; all the rest is the work of man.

Working...