Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Operating Systems Ubuntu Linux

Peppermint OS One Review 110

Posted by CmdrTaco
from the does-it-come-in-an-altoid-tin dept.
JimLynch writes "I've covered a lot of remastered versions of Ubuntu since DLR launched. But, every once in a while, I bump into one that is particularly interesting to review. Peppermint OS One is definitely in that category. Peppermint OS One is a web-centric Ubuntu remaster that passes up common desktop applications like OpenOffice.org in favor of web-based alternatives such as Google Docs. And it doesn't stop with office applications either; Peppermint OS One integrates video sites like YouTube and Hulu right into the desktop experience."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Peppermint OS One Review

Comments Filter:
  • Re:Less. (Score:2, Informative)

    by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @06:08PM (#32187278)

    I was excited after reading a review the other day. I downloaded it, and went to load it in a VM, expecting speed from my quad core. It wasn't much faster than the full blown Ubuntu. I loaded it on an old laptop. Was faster than Windows XP, but not as much as I had hoped. It's a good idea, perhaps the next version will do better.

  • My review... (Score:5, Informative)

    by Jugalator (259273) on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @06:09PM (#32187286) Journal

    I don't play around with Linux much at all, but here's my review of this OS that I tried last evening:

    1. Fast!
    2. Mostly just web apps in the app menu. Office apps = Google apps, etc.
    3. The web apps open up minimalist Firefox windows.

    This is basically it, IMO. I've intentionally worded this "review" like I did - very short and concise, because that's what this distro is. It doesn't do much besides opening Firefox windows. Since it doesn't do much else, it runs and boots very fast. The key to its power is that it barely does anything. It can probably be compared to Chromium OS in that regard. One difference from Chromium OS is however that you *can* install other Linux apps too, but that's not the purpose of the distro. Yes, it does multiple accounts, and the main objective of those may be independent storage of the Firefox browser cookies. ;) Backup systems? No no. Google backs up your documents on Google Docs. It seems like the distro is based on Linux Mint.

  • Re:Less. (Score:3, Informative)

    by Darkness404 (1287218) on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @06:50PM (#32187592)
    The problem with Chrome is the lack of customization, not just plugins but customization. Chrome lacks decent controls for history, I don't -care- if I leave cookies, I just hate seeing viewed sites because mostly they are viewed and worthless. I never really have used any history 'features' and it annoys me to have all mistyped domain names and the like still in there. Also, the Linux version of chrome at least makes it impossible to click the middle mouse button and scroll, something that I use on a regular basis in Firefox. Also, it is impossible to use custom CSS and such to view sites with.

    Any one of these things alone wouldn't be too bad, but with all of them, its just too annoying to use on a daily basis.
  • Re:Ok, seriously? (Score:3, Informative)

    by Darkness404 (1287218) on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @06:52PM (#32187616)
    Um, what are you talking about. Look at the Nexus One http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nexus_One [wikipedia.org] 1 Ghz ARM CPU, 512 MB of RAM, and storage up to 32 GB with SD cards.
  • Re:Less. (Score:5, Informative)

    by h4rr4r (612664) on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @07:17PM (#32187810)

    Just looked again. Still no vimperator it seems. They have some vimium crap which seems to just add some keybindings. Still useless.

  • Flash Player under stock Ubuntu 9.10 zooms 480p YouTube video into the 600p full screen just fine on my Dell Mini 10. It had problems on my Eee PC 900, but perhaps a 2-thread Atom at twice the clock speed really is faster than a single-thread Celeron.
  • by SpzToid (869795) on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @07:38PM (#32187946)

    Word of warning friend. Check to see if your unit has Poulsbo graphics. If it does, like my accountant's Dell Mini 10 From Hell, I could only manage to compile the graphics driver from this script, below. And this must be re-done every time my accountant overwrites the compiled drivers with Ubuntu updates.

    http://poulsbo-karmic.angelfire.com/ [angelfire.com]

    Now here's the real news. That script works fine for fixing Pulsbo graphics on the Dell Mini-10 from Hell. BUT BE WARNED, upgrading to karmic will just ruin the Poulsbo graphics completely, with no hope for repair, aside from formatting and going back to 9.10.

    But yeah, other than that, my accountant's Dell Mini 10 From Hell runs YouTube videos very well.

    So does my Asus Eee HD1000-something. It is pure delight with Ubuntu remix, and a fully encrypted disk (install Ubuntu fully encrypted using the alternate installer, then via Synaptec, add the 'task' Ubuntu Netbook).

  • Re:Less. (Score:2, Informative)

    by Daengbo (523424) <daengbo@@@gmail...com> on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @07:40PM (#32187962) Homepage Journal

    Start with TinyCore Linux [tinycorelinux.com], add only the parts you want (by default, it comes only with a WM, a dock, and a control panel), and have exactly the OS you desire. It's trivially easy to modify, boots in about 3 seconds on my Intel Classmate off an SD card, runs entirely in memory, and starts at 10MB.

  • Re:Less. (Score:2, Informative)

    by Daengbo (523424) <daengbo@@@gmail...com> on Wednesday May 12, 2010 @07:43PM (#32187982) Homepage Journal

    Do you realize that Chrome has integrated developer tools and even has a timeline for page loading to identify slow areas?

We have a equal opportunity Calculus class -- it's fully integrated.

Working...