Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux 139

Posted by ScuttleMonkey
from the making-linux-simpler-for-luddites dept.
holden writes "OpenAddict has a review of the new Xandros 4.1 professional.Some of the big changes in professional include a newer kernel, AIGLX, and support for 3G wireless. One of the subtle, but still very important changes, is that Xandros has finally removed the registration requirement, and users can now access Xandros Networks without registering first. Techworld is one of many that is already looking at Xandros as a possible challenger to Windows Vista"
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux

Comments Filter:
  • by Nanpa (971527) on Monday December 04, 2006 @09:59PM (#17108368)
    I can honestly tell you now that the startmenu is far superior. And the windows key is one of the most useful buttons on my keyboard (But then again, I'm lazy).

    The shared bar between applications on MacOS still infuriates me

  • by Halvy (748070) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:07PM (#17108416) Journal
    http://www.xandros.com/products/home/home_edition. html# [xandros.com]


    Thats all I found after nearly a 1/2 hour of searching their site.

    Even DistroWatch doesn't have access to a totaly free version of their work.

    If this is true then they are seriously violating the GPL-- if they are under it :(


    -- Firmly entrenched at the very bottom of 'Terrible Karma'.. now I can FINALLY speak my mind..

  • Features? (Score:5, Interesting)

    by nmb3000 (741169) <nmb3000@that-google-mail-site.com> on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:33PM (#17108586) Homepage Journal
    Seamless access to shared Windows folders and printers

    The ability to write to Windows NTFS partitions

    Seamless Microsoft Exchange connectivity

    If an enterprise already has a Windows environment, why would they be interested in upsetting everything and installing new Linux workstations? I'm not saying Linux can't perform, but keep in mind that if things are running smooth already, the least of their costs are going to be Windows client licenses. They are spending money on Windows servers for file storage, mail, directory services, etc, so they may as well use Windows as the client software as well. Vista isn't going to be this enormous expenditure because most corporate computers will not upgrade to Vista until the computer hardware is replaced anyway.

    This sounds like just another one of these "Linux Is Read and Poised To Overthrow Microsoft on the Desktop!" articles that Slashdot sees every couple months (especially around the end of the year, when next year just might be the Year of Linux).
  • Re:What's its niche? (Score:3, Interesting)

    by quanticle (843097) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:40PM (#17108634) Homepage

    I would suspect (I haven't used this particular version) that its niche is the same as RedHat/SuSE. It aims to be a Linux distribution mainly for business use, with a specific emphasis on Windows compatibility.

    That said, I would like to see how Xandros reacts to the Novell/Microsoft deal. With Novell poised to take the lead in Windows compatibility, it seems that Xandros is fading into another "me-too" Debian based distro.

  • Re:I am impressed (Score:3, Interesting)

    by stinerman (812158) <nathan@stine.gmail@com> on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:52PM (#17108726) Homepage
    This makes me wonder why there is all this hype about K[U]buntu, which is dogged with all sorts of bugs.


    Ku/Xu/Ubuntu is free as in beer. Of course, Freespire is as well, but they have the "we used to be Lindows and the community turned its back on us" gorilla on their back to this day. They've made good strides and I've suggested it as a Windows replacement to a few family members.

    Another thing is that Ubuntu has pretty successfully taken most of the ideals of the Free Software movement and made a pretty polished distro that Just Works. They do a good job of straddling the line between idealism and functionality. I went to Debian Etch from Ubuntu Dapper mostly because I used a lot from universe which was updated regularly in Etch. And, of course, Shuttleworth has thrown tons of cash at Ubuntu in order to help make it the disto du jour.

    I can't speak to how good either distro is because I've not tried them. If it works for you, that works for me.
  • by JohnRoss1968 (574825) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:59PM (#17108776)
    Thats just wonderful. Im very happy for all you Linux fans. Will I be able to Watch the same movies and video clips I do now? What about my E-Book Collection? Will I be able to use the programs I use now for backing up my DVD Collection ? ( AnyDVD and CloneDVD ) Will I Be able to play the games I own right now ? ( Battlefield series Ect......Not that I did'nt reallllly enjoy Tux Racer) What about my hardware , will I have to "Roll my own" drivers for my computer ? Will it do all of this out of the Box (or the download) How much will I have to Relearn about computers (sorry I have very little free time to put away for learning a lot of new crap to do the same stuff I do now.) I do not mind spending a little time on learning a new operating system. I do mind spending a lot of time on Kernels and drivers and all of this other crap. When I can install this ( on the same computer as my XP just in case ) And it gives me the same uses as XP does without a trip thru Geekfest 4000 then i'll do something besides yawn) and to all those who put people down for using windows or what not because its not as LEET as Linux remember two things 1.Windows is the number one used operating system in the world for a reason. 2. I got your LEET hanging right here.
  • by PenGun (794213) on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:29PM (#17108956) Homepage
    Both GUIs suck wildly. They are slow as hell and everything clutters up the place and the apps get in each others way.

      A nice fluxbox/windowmaker, multi screen, I run 5 with keyboard shortcuts CTRL/Right-Left arrows. So a bunch of instantly accesible windows. No damn bar at all. Right click on vacent screen, or the wierd key between the windose and ctrl keys on the right, for a menu. Lots of keyboard shortcuts. Alt-m for mail is as fast as you can do it.

      It's so much faster and easier than any of the commercial setups.

        PenGun
      Do What Now

        PenGun
      Do What Now ??? ... Standards and Practices !
  • Re:What's its niche? (Score:3, Interesting)

    by Burz (138833) on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:47PM (#17109064) Journal
    For small-medium sized businesses Xandros is a good alternative to SuSE, I'd say, having moved between the two myself. Xandros can be configured extensively through the GUI, but the control panel is much more coherent than SuSE's; the former also wins hands-down for effective samba configuration.

    FWIW, this Xandros 4.1 Professional Edition seems to be the replacement for Xandros Business Edition; they are both aimed at desktops. The only thing really new for Xandros niche-wise is their enterprise-level server.
  • Re:I am impressed (Score:2, Interesting)

    by Zantetsuken (935350) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:01AM (#17109524) Homepage
    The way I see it is like this: what will the rest of the world using Windows ver:Whatever go to if Microsoft goes in the deep end/bites the dust - suddenly the only people making anything for Windows are the 3rd party application and gaming industry. That means no more security updates - leaving 90% of the average computer using world vulnerable to spyware, viruses, and script-kiddies "You've been H4XX0R3D!11!!??!"

    *IF* such a case were to happen, and beings that Apple with their Mac OS-X runs only on Mac hardware (which costs a bundle compared to normal PC hardware), and that I don't see everybody running out to buy a Mac ("But this computer worked fine, now I need a Mac?") I would say OS-X is kinda out of the question the way things are.

    Since OSX is out of the picture now as an OS to convert to, that leaves Linux and BSD variants. Out of the 2, I would think that Linux would be more likely for 2 big reasons. 1: more people currently use Linux than BSD as far as I know right now. 2: even among people that aren't at all geeky (and don't want to be), I can bet you more people have at least heard of Linux running on servers and whatnot - and even if they haven't heard of Linux, mention it and they'll go "What the heck is that?" - whereas if you try to tell them about BSD, I can see a person saying something like "BSD? What is that, the new name for LSD/Acid?"

    Now that we've for sure narrowed it down to Linux, people will want to know which distro is most compatible with their Windows apps (you actually expected people to realize there are OSS alternatives?) which distribution is most user-friendly (not even having to user CLI - ever, because it has a front-end application to manipulate configuration files with check-boxes and radio buttons), and which distro works best out of the box (mp3, mpg, etc playback) which I would include with user-friendly.

    And from the way I see it - *THAT* is why (or at least partly why) there is continually a search for a Linux competitor to WindowsXP and Vista (or whatever version is out or coming out).
  • by dknj (441802) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:36AM (#17109674) Journal
    required to deal with the security problems, spyware, adware is huge problem

    fast forward 10 years into the apolyptic future. linux is the desktop king. you don't think spyware, adware, et al is going to exist? i mean by that notion, microsoft had it pretty damn easy in the windows 3.1 and early 95 days, remember? if linux can solve the problem, explain why a bunch of heavily paid microsoft researchers cannot do the same thing.

  • by popo (107611) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @02:39AM (#17110014) Homepage
    Please, Mac makes beautiful hardware.

    As far as the OS goes its pretty but a distant second to Windows.

    I have a Mac and a PC (XP) and I won't take sides on what's a better overall system because both
    have their merits. But in terms of usability, OSX has that infuriating icon bar at the bottom
    which doesn't nest with sublevels. The file system has a weird horizontal orientation in the
    'explorer' which smacks of "we need to look different from Windows" logic. The window maximize
    feature (which doesn't lock to the screen) is also infuriating. But most of all... and this is
    something that I cannot forgive Apple for: The one button mouse is fundamentally inferior.
    Support for two buttons is limited in the OS.

    Apple is always getting credit for being design intensive -- but this is more of an aesthetic
    judgement IMHO. Microsoft (as much as I love to bash them) deserves far more credit than they
    get for designing an extraordinarily usable UI.

    My two cents of course. Nothing intended as a flame here. As I said, I have both machines
    and use them both.

Man must shape his tools lest they shape him. -- Arthur R. Miller

Working...