Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux 139

Posted by ScuttleMonkey
from the making-linux-simpler-for-luddites dept.
holden writes "OpenAddict has a review of the new Xandros 4.1 professional.Some of the big changes in professional include a newer kernel, AIGLX, and support for 3G wireless. One of the subtle, but still very important changes, is that Xandros has finally removed the registration requirement, and users can now access Xandros Networks without registering first. Techworld is one of many that is already looking at Xandros as a possible challenger to Windows Vista"
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux

Comments Filter:
  • What's its niche? (Score:2, Insightful)

    by Anonymous Coward on Monday December 04, 2006 @09:39PM (#17108190)
    I first heard of Xandros when No Starch Press based their book Linux Made Easy [amazon.com] on the distro. I assumed it was a distro meant for those with simple home needs. But here we hear about a "professional" edition. What's the niche of the distro, and how do its maintainers intend to set it apart from the many other options out there?
  • by NevarMore (248971) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:08PM (#17108424) Homepage Journal
    No people like me understand the realities of the situation. I use more pleasant language, but I have both shot down and supported open source projects on the job. Sometimes it makes sense, sometimes it doesn't. Everyone has promised total solutions over the years using a given OS, source philosophy, or magic software. No one of them is a solution.

    Part of my ire comes from the jerkwad parent poster who couldn't even read the executive summary paragraph. Still though, I don't have a choice for what works, I have a choice for what takes less of time time and breaks less.
  • Re:I am impressed (Score:5, Insightful)

    by mordors9 (665662) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:50PM (#17108698)
    I guess I fail to understand this constant search for a possible challenger to Windows. There is a large segment of society that will never change from Windows no matter what the Linux distros come up with. Linux needs to be sold to the young for what it does best, stability, security, simplicity. It isn't going to be cause we can look close to Windows. And yes I am a Linux user.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:06PM (#17108820)
    Why should I move the mouse cursor to the top of the screen every time I want to access a menu? If you have multiple instances of an application open and you don't keep track what exact instance has the focus at the moment you might fuck something up out of confusion.
    There are many flaws to this system as well. I can't stand it personally and even though I don't like it the "normal way" either (you're right that it e.g. wastes space) I'd prefer each application with it's own menu bar to the osx style.

    Also Xandros uses KDE where the option for a osx-like top menu bar is just a radio button away (only for KDE applications though). :)
  • A few years ago.. (Score:3, Insightful)

    by future assassin (639396) on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:18PM (#17108898) Homepage
    I tried Xandros. Dont remeber the verion but was so taken back by the slick and quick install that I was ready to ditch Win2k/XP for Xandros. It worked great with my hardware and looked good.

    It came installed with Mozilla and not Firefox. This is where the road back to Win2K/Xp stared. Looking thorugh their software repository I searched for Firefox and it wasn't there. So I check the forums. I found a post about installing Firefox. Well it was about 7 pages at that time. Reading through the first two showed me that no way in hell was I going to go through all the admin mumbo jumbo just to install Firefox. I was too lazy from trying out several destop distros that day.

    Anyways I went back to windows cause it just works. Now before I get flamed by the "You're just too stupid to run Linux" fanboyz, know that I've ran/run and setup Slackware 10.1 and FreeBSD 6 web servers at home with no problems so my techincal abilities/curiosities are above the average computer user but what had to be done to install Firefox on XandrOS was just retarded and this is what keeps a steady supply of new users away from Linux. Most joe/jane average computer user has no problems finding/installing and configuring software preferances but thats if its provided for them through an installer.

  • Re:Features? (Score:4, Insightful)

    by Shawn is an Asshole (845769) on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:18PM (#17108900)
    If it's a computer running Windows 98 I'd highly doubt it would be able to run a modern Linux distro adequately. I've dealt with that on older computers such as a Dell Optiplex GX1 (450mhz p3 w/512 ram). Ubuntu, Fedora, CentOS, Suse, Mandriva, etc, all run rather poorly. 2000 will run usably, so will XP if you disable the fisher price theme.
  • by ender- (42944) <doubletwist@fear ... in.net minus cat> on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @12:23AM (#17109278) Homepage Journal
    Then why is it being Touted as "a possible challenger to Windows Vista". It would only be a challenger to Windows Vista if it was going to be used by the same userbase.

    Well if you had actually read the summary and the article you would understand that the product is called "Xandros Desktop Professional, and that based on the features listed and discussed, is most likely being touted as a possible challenger to Vista Business Edition. Maybe Techworld didn't spell it out for you, but I assumed that features such as "Thin clients and terminal emulation", "Seamless Microsoft Exchange connectivity", or "Ready for mass deployment in enterprise settings via xDMS, Xandros Deployment and Management Server" would have clued you in on that fact.

    You said THIS distro is not for me. OK ill bite. Which Linux distro would fit my needs as listed above ? Are there any like that ?

    No, I'm not aware of any distro that caters to people who whine that a distro targeted at enterprise customers doesn't support games written for a completely different operating system. Don't complain that Linux doesn't support every piece of software written for Windows. It's hardly the fault of Linux, and quite frankly amazing that it can be made to run any software written for Windows. If you want to complain that Linux can't run your games, start bitching at the game developers. It is their choice to write games for Windows. Other developers are capable of writing cross-platform games, such as Doom 3, Quake 4, UT2004, Neverwinter Nights etc.

    Trust me, I'd be very happy if all the best games ran in Linux, whether it be because the developer's wrote it that way, or because the smart folks who hack on Linux figured out a way to make them all work. But it just isn't there yet, so if you want to play games and use specific software written for Windows, just use Windows.

    Also I dont ring up Fries. I run 4 group homes for mental patients with dozens of clients and a dozen or so employees.Is this yet another example of Linux Leetness . You dont Understand Linux You must work at some Burger Joint.

    You are capable of running 4 group homes and dealing with a dozen employees, yet you come into this forum and post like a 16year old who just got off the night-shift at Wendy's [No offense to those few intelligent 16yr olds working at burger joints :)]. It has nothing to do with whether or not you 'understand Linux'. It's about your attitude of 'Waaah, this distro doesn't fit my needs perfectly so I'm going to complain'.

     
  • by mungtor (306258) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:14AM (#17109566)
    The issue/problem is trying to unseat Windows as the current/incumbent OS. Many efforts are made to give Linux distos a "Windows" feel simply because that is what people are used to. In order to educate people that the OS is NOT what the story is all about, you need to show them an interface that they are comfortable with and willing to work within. When all the applications that they want to run *just run*, then they might understand.

    One of the biggest conceits within the Linux community is "Of course it't better, so just use it". Even if it's true, you need to help people along the path. Think of it as a language. If I could *prove* that, for example, Esperanto was a better and more efficient language for communication I would have a hard time making people switch if it was completely unlike anything they had ever seen before. There needs to be a strong tie to the language they already know to ease the pain of switching, or else it just isn't worth it.

    I could ramble on about the problems, and where Linux apps really aren't as polished as Windows (Gaim vs Trillian for example) but I'm pretty drunk right now. Typing this much has been a pretty significant accomplishment. :)
  • Re:I am impressed (Score:4, Insightful)

    by killjoe (766577) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:50AM (#17109756)
    I think the search comes from MS being a powerful and unethical entity. When you have that much power, that much money, that much clout with governments and you are completely unconcerned with ethics or morals then people see you as a danger to them and others.

    Add to that a company which seems to be floudering with their flagship products and promising to go on a lawsuit binge and you can see trouble coming from a mile away.

  • by javabandit (464204) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @02:01AM (#17109822)
    Here is a quote from a prior post:

    NEWSFLASH! This distro is NOT for you. It's not developed for you, it's not designed for you, it's not intended for you. You want to game? Use Windows [for now], or buy a console.

    Can we get past the idea that we have to have two completely separate computers... one for gaming and one for business? This is 2006. I think we can have one machine that does both.

    XP Professional does both. Hell, even Macintosh does both to some level.

    Telling people that they should dual boot is not going to get new users any time soon.
  • by Lavene (1025400) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @02:53AM (#17110076)

    For all the MS bashing in the linux world, why do all distributions use a crappy gui that tries to copy the crappy startmenu/explorer interface of MS? It sucks, copy apple at the very least.
    Sometimes even MS get something right and the interface introduced with W95 is, in my opinion anyway, one of those things. I really like the basic idea behind that GUI. I do not however like how they do their operating system. I prefer *nix so by using GNU/ Linux with KDE I get the best of two worlds.
    One typical Linux thing that's not in Win that I particulary like is the ingenious pager. I have just a 15" display and utilizing multiple desktops makes handelig of many open programs a breeze. So by having browser and email apps on one desktop, my terminals and ftp client in another and my development tools in a third I completly avoid a taskbar that's crowded beyond belief and I don't have to jugle 15 windows on a small workspace.
    So maybe I'm not a certified Windows hater/ Linux zealot but atleast I have a very comfortable desktop...
  • Re:Features? (Score:3, Insightful)

    by suv4x4 (956391) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @08:59AM (#17111994)
    FTFS: Techworld is one of many that is already looking at Xandros as a possible challenger to Windows Vista

    What a bold statement, and supported by nothing. What do you know, marketeers and reporters STILL have no problem spewing BS that makes no sense, as long as it attracts attention.

    This sounds like just another one of these "Linux Is Read and Poised To Overthrow Microsoft on the Desktop!" articles that Slashdot sees every couple months (especially around the end of the year, when next year just might be the Year of Linux).

    The sad part is we actually had better reasons to believe this before, when Linux was making big steps towards the desktop computers.
    Now, people just seem to throw this out without even some shred of credibility, just to make the news of the day, if possible.

    If nothing else, from past and current articles like this, we know what competitor features will NOT throw Windows out of the market:

    - Free
    - Ooooh shiny!
    - Open Source
    - Can work with NTFS (sorry, Windows can work with NTFS too ...heh)
    - Souped up alternatives for Exchange and Active Directory

"How do I love thee? My accumulator overflows."

Working...