Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux 139

Posted by ScuttleMonkey
from the making-linux-simpler-for-luddites dept.
holden writes "OpenAddict has a review of the new Xandros 4.1 professional.Some of the big changes in professional include a newer kernel, AIGLX, and support for 3G wireless. One of the subtle, but still very important changes, is that Xandros has finally removed the registration requirement, and users can now access Xandros Networks without registering first. Techworld is one of many that is already looking at Xandros as a possible challenger to Windows Vista"
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of New Xandros 4.1 Professional Linux

Comments Filter:
  • by Sir Homer (549339) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:00PM (#17108378)
    They are trying to target Windows users and make the system easy for those not familiar with Linux. It is suppose to work in theory.
  • by x2A (858210) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:18PM (#17108486)
    You can distribute a disc that has GPL software along with non-GPL software on it. As long as you include the source for all the GPL software you're not necessarily breaking any GPL rules.

  • I am impressed (Score:4, Informative)

    by bogaboga (793279) on Monday December 04, 2006 @10:29PM (#17108548)
    Techworld is one of many that is already looking at Xandros as a possible challenger to Windows Vista"

    I am one of the very few slashdotters that have publicly said that Xandros, Freespire and especially Xandros are one of the best distros out there. I even contributes a few days ago that these distros actaully work as advertised.

    http://slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=208360&cid=169 89294 [slashdot.org].

    What came out of that contribution was being touted as one who had contributed flamebait!

    Now, with this view from Techworld, I feel very happy inside. This makes me wonder why there is all this hype about K[U]buntu, which is dogged with all sorts of bugs. Thanks once again to the folks at Xandros.

  • Re:What's its niche? (Score:2, Informative)

    by Anonymous Coward on Monday December 04, 2006 @11:49PM (#17109084)
    It's niche? It's like a commercial debian, except much better than progeny. Everything just works, even more so than ubuntu.

    I used to use it, but I felt bad for stealing, so now I use kubuntu.

    For the non-technical, it's worth the money. IMO it's the best 'desktop' linux in existence.

        For the geeks, you'll probably want to install something like kubuntu and tweak it until it works like xandros (ntfs support, aiglx, nvidia drivers, wifi drivers, etc). They add a lot of value to debian, but I dunno if they add $99 worth if you have geek skills.

    I noticed they have aiglx support. That about sums up how they are different from other distros. If you've tried to install beryl/aiglx on ubuntu, you can appreciate that it works out of the box with xandros. All of those little things that aren't quite there yet with ubuntu that you bang your head on until it works are there with xandros.

  • by xxdesmus (932581) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @12:14AM (#17109224) Homepage
    The only distro of linux that is even vaguely close enough to mature to be a valid challenger to Vista might be Ubuntu, and that is still pushing it.
  • Re:What's its niche? (Score:1, Informative)

    by fangorious (1024903) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:41AM (#17109702)
    Ubuntu/Kubuntu 6.10 have AIGLX, and 7.04 will have the fglrx and nv proprietary drivers in the default install.
  • by gelfling (6534) on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @07:52AM (#17111646) Homepage Journal
    I do not know. I mean other than foundational differences in the two. *nix started out in life with a mature network centric approach. Windows did not. In fact Windows was rather late to the world of networking beyond its little world of LAN based MS protocols and unroutable networks. Windows was created with the idea that the single user was king. *nix was not. So in very foundational ways, the two developed in very different directions. In the Windows world, the user and the kernel are very close to one another and something that happens to the user, happens to the kernel. The basic approach to mitigating disaster is to limit how flaws in the kernel propagate. In the *nix world the kernel and the user are fairly far apart and the general approach to mitigating disaster is to wall off what happens to the user from the kernel. So fast forward 10 years - there will indeed be spyware and such in the *nix world but the probability is that it will have less effect on the rest of the system and the rest of your network.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday December 05, 2006 @01:22PM (#17115136)
    $100, it is too much, potential new users wont pay that much, they would rather buy windows home editions.

"Someone's been mean to you! Tell me who it is, so I can punch him tastefully." -- Ralph Bakshi's Mighty Mouse

Working...