Slashdot Log In
$150 Linux Laptop for the Masses
Posted by
ScuttleMonkey
on Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:15 PM
from the on-the-cheap dept.
from the on-the-cheap dept.
Xemu writes "Inspired by Negroponte's laptop for children, the Swedish company Medison is now taking orders for their US$150 Linux laptop, the Medison Celebrity. The laptop is a 1.5 GHz Celeron M 370 with 14 inch screen, wireless network and it comes with Fedora Red Hat pre-installed." Update 2035 GMT by SM: As many readers have pointed out, the more you dig into the details of this company the more fishy it starts to seem. I would suggest any potential buyers be wary on this one.
Related Stories
[+]
Hardware: In Search of the Cheap Linux Laptop 421 comments
mr_mischief writes "According to Hot Hardware's recent review, Asus is getting ready to unleash a $199 compact notebook running Linux. This is entirely different from this recent $150 Linux laptop story which many Slashdot readers believed to be a scam. There's a dual-mode menu which offers a simple system for novice computer users, and a slightly more advanced version for others. It's not aimed squarely at the same market as the One Laptop Per Child project's XO, and is expected to be sold to end users worldwide. It's targeted at new users who don't own a computer or at people who want a cheap, small laptop for basic tasks. The reviewed version has a 7" screen and a cramped keyboard to match, but a 10" version is available for $100 more. It offers built-in wired and wireless networking, four USB 2.0 ports, and a three-hour battery life. The storage options are a bit cramped, as you only get 4 GB of on-board storage (8 GB on the $299 model) and no optical drive. As the review says, though, USB 2.0 can make up for that if you like, and the lack of moving drive parts makes the machine run dead quiet."
This discussion has been archived.
No new comments can be posted.
The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
Full
Abbreviated
Hidden
Loading ... Please wait.

Sure... (Score:5, Funny)
laptop for children truly !! (Score:5, Funny)
Wish it had more details (Score:5, Insightful)
Re:Wish it had more details (Score:5, Informative)
It may be fraud (Score:5, Interesting)
Re:It may be fraud (Score:5, Interesting)
Re:It may be fraud (Score:5, Insightful)
No phone number! (Score:5, Insightful)
If they are legit they are working really hard to seem like a scam.
Re:It may be fraud (Score:5, Informative)
http://www.clevo.com.tw/products/M540V.asp [clevo.com.tw]
They say that they manufacture in Sweden, but that's a Taiwanese firm. Definitely stinky, and I wouldn't buy one.
Re:It may be fraud (Score:5, Interesting)
http://www.apple.com/legal/privacy/ [apple.com]
vs
http://www.medisoncelebrity.com/legal/privacy/ [medisoncelebrity.com]
(for instance, check the 'kids' sections)
Re:It may be fraud (Score:5, Funny)
I doubt this is a fraud. They accept credit cards, like Visa.
Smells fishy... (Score:5, Informative)
http://www.engadget.com/2007/07/25/medison-celebr
This one looks particularly concerning:
Johan Löfgren @ Jul 25th 2007 12:02PM
Hello fellas. I came across this site, when searching for information about this computer. With that pricetag, it would be a brilliant surf & chat computer for me.
I'm a swedish student, and I found an article in a larger web-newspaper in sweden and was amazed..
Sadly though, when reading comments all over, at swedish sites, this thing starts to smell very very rotten..
The speculation is about this beeing a scam, in the same way that you've mentioned above.
There's bankrupcy issues, lies at the homepage, weird and incomplete messages from the people behind this "madison" company. The screenshots of the computer, has been found at other manufacturers. Companies, that Madison claim to work with, hasn't heard of the connection..
The things above, has been discovered by many people, at different swedish sites. Even more than that.
The 4-6 week delivery time, sounds perfect to grab as much cash as possible and run.
No-one can find anyone with an example of this computer. People doesn't believe this thing even exist.
I recommend all of you, to wait and see how everything turns out here in sweden, before you buy this. As most swedes do right now.. Wait and see if the first computers arrive at all.
I hope that this isn't a scam. I'd love to buy one. I'd love if the promised "future generation" will arrive.
But this thing doesn't feel safe.
Cincearly
-Johan Löfgren. Orebro, Sweden
Re:Smells fishy... (Score:5, Insightful)
If it sounds too good to be true...
But running a scam like this out of Sweden seems like a big risk to me. But then I have no idea how good the Swedish legal system is. I thought they had some very strong consumer protection laws. It is probably safer to buy this if you live in Sweden than the US.
Re:Smells fishy... (Score:5, Interesting)
Come to think of it, maybe that should have been the first warning.
IKEA? (Score:5, Funny)
take this off slashdot (Score:5, Interesting)
Don't buy or leave your credit card data. Scam. (Score:5, Informative)
Working on talking to them live (Score:5, Interesting)
It comes with a very powerful battery (Score:5, Funny)
ROOOOAAAAARR!!!
Just got a text from the owner/ceo/whatever (Score:5, Informative)
Almost certainly a scam (Score:5, Informative)
Also, take a look at the address provided
27 RUFFETS WOOD
GRAVESEND
KENT
DA12 5JQ
My my, Nordic Multimedia Distribution Limited is listed as having the same address: http://www.ukdata.com/company-credit-reports/NORD
GI Finance Limited is located here as well: http://www.simplycreditreports.com/company-number
La Vida Art Limited: http://www.companiesgate.co.uk/LA+VIDA+ART+LIMITE
BYGG Invest Limited: http://www.ukdata.com/company-credit-reports/BYGG
HG Shiprepair Limited: http://www.companiesgate.co.uk/HG+SHIPREPAIR+LIMI
Also, Ken-Erik Limited is listed as having the same address: http://www.companiesgate.co.uk/KEN-ERIK+LIMITED.a
I checked google maps to see if I could locate the address: http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=
Looks a lot like a residential area, either house/condo/apartment, definatley not a corporate or even industrial location.
Re:Fedora Red Hat (Score:5, Funny)
Yes, as are Fedora Red Hat and Fedora Red Hat CentOS.
Fedora Red Hat CentOS is my special creation. I mix the artwork of Fedora, Red Hat AND CentOS.
In this way, I can have the stability of Red Hat, the currentness of Fedora, and the lack of mandatory expensive support contracts which makes CentOS such a great option.
All of this in one distribution. You should try it. It's the next big thing. Honest.
Re:Medison? (Score:5, Funny)
*offers spoonful of sugar*
That should help it go down.
Re:Medison? (Score:5, Funny)
First salt, then Medison, then lemon. Then you wake up in a shopping cart in a stranger's bathroom with a pounding headache, no memory of last night and no idea where your clothes are.
Re:The fine print (Score:5, Insightful)
No, it might take that long (it says elsewhere 4-6 weeks plus they can shine people on for another week or two) for them to get cash from the credit card clearing house before they disappear. Add up the BOM on that machine and they can't buy those parts in 100,000 lots for $150USD. Scam.